Sales Pre-license Requirements
1. Complete a 63 hour course inclusive of a 100 question multiple choice exam based on Florida law, principles and practices of real estate and 10 real estate math questions.
The passing grade is 70.
2. Apply to the State. One must be at least 18 years of age, have a high school diploma or an equivalency and have a legal record largely absent of fraud and dishonesty. The Commission will evaluate any negative items of record on a case by case basis. The process takes a couple of weeks and can be done before, during or after the course.
3. Pass a 100 question State exam at one of many locations scattered throughout Florida which you set by appointment with the exam center. One is located right here in Lee county in Gateway near the International Airport and also in Estero.
4. You will receive a license immediately upon passing your exam. You do not need to be associated with a broker at that time. You can hold inactive status until you are ready to enter the market. If the exam is not passed the first time, no additional schooling is required to retake the exam multiple times.